## Winner of the 2011 IAG Early Career Researcher Award

## Leah Morgan

The IAG's sixth annual Early Career Researcher Award, presented at the Goldschmidt Conference in Prague in 2011, was won by Dr Leah Morgan, then a Marie Curie Postdoctoral Fellow at the Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam. Her paper entitled *Improving the accuracy of the 40Ar/39Ar geochronometer* was selected from 1150 potential candidates. The judges felt her work, which focuses on using metrologically rigorous methods for refining the decay parameters within the branched K/Ar and K/Ca decay chain, represented a significant advance in improving data quality in the K/Ar radioactive decay system. It also closely matched one of the Association's key goals of improving geochemical metrology.

After Amsterdam, Leah worked for three years as a Marie Curie Postdoctoral Fellow at the Scottish Universities Environmental Research Centre at East Kilbride, UK. In 2015 she joined the USGS in Denver as a Research Geologist, where she co-leads their Argon Geochronology Laboratory.

In 2018-2019, Leah was Chair and Founder of the Geochronology Division of the Geological Society of America and she has been co-Vice Chair and co-Chair of two Gordon Research Conferences on Geochronology. She is a member of the Steering Committee of EARTHTIME.



Leah Morgan (left) with IAG Vice President Prof Jacinta Enzweiler at the 2011 Goldschmidt awards Ceremony