IAG Council

The governing body of the IAG is its Council, consisting of the officers (President, Vice President, Immediate Past President, Honorary Secretary and Honorary Treasurer) and up to six members. Council may co-opt up to eight additional members to fulfil specific roles. For example, the Chair of the organising committee of the next Geoanalysis conference is usually co-opted to Council.

Council is elected every three years by ballot of the membership, with the results being announced at the General Meeting held during the Geoanalysis conference. Nominations for membership of Council are sought three or four months before the conference.

Council meets usually twice a year hosted by one of its members. Meetings last typically two to three days depending on the agenda and if there is, for example, a special workshop scheduled, involving outside experts.

Right: IAG Council 2018-2021. Above: Council working during its October 2017 meeting.

IAG Council
August 2022 – September 2024  
Jacinta Enzweiler President University of Campinas, Brazil
Regina Mertz-Kraus Vice-President Johannes Gutenberg-Universität, Mainz, Germany
Jennifer Cook Secretary British Geological Survey, Nottingham, UK
Chris Jackson Treasurer Kent, UK
Thomas Meisel Immediate Past President Montanuniversität Leoben, Austria
Wei Chen
Member of Council China University of Geosciences, Wuhan, China
Charles Gowing Member of Council British Geological Survey, Nottingham, UK
Dorrit Jacob
Member of Council Australian National University, Canberra
Mike Pribil
Member of Council United States Geological Survey, Denver
Martin Rosner
Member of Council Isoanalysis, Berlin, Germany
Alicja Wudarska
Member of Council Polish Academy of Sciences, Warsaw, Poland
Peter Webb GeoPT Programme formerly of The Open University, Milton Keynes, UK
Michael Wiedenbeck
G-Chron Programme Helmholtz Centre Potsdam, Germany
Dieter Garbe-Schönberg G-Probe programme University of Kiel, Germany
Edward Williams GGR Business and Publication Manager Centre de Recherches Pétrographiques et Géochimiques, Nancy, France
Alicia Cruz-Uribe
Publicity University of Maine, USA
Axel Renno
Chair of Geoanalysis 2022 organising committee Helmholtz Centre Dresden-Rossendorf, Germany